Sale!

Mad Miss Mimic

රු 399.00

Author: Sarah Henstra
Binding: Paperback

ISBN: 9780143192374

  Ask a Question
SKU: 9780143192374 Category: Tags: ,

Description

Author: Sarah Henstra
Binding: Paperback

ISBN: 9780143192374
Publisher: Razorbill Canada; Dgs edition
Language: English
Page Count: 272
Publication Date: 1/3/2017
Size: 8″ l x 5.1″ w x 0.8″

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people’s voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her “Mad Miss Mimic” behind her back… and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo…but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations – but to do so, she must first find her voice.

goodreads.com reviews    Reviews

Average Rating:

3.5 rating based on 691 ratings (all editions)

ISBN-10: 014319237X
ISBN-13: 9780143192374
Goodreads: 30008250

Author(s):
Publisher: Razorbill Canada
Published: 1/3/2017

There are things I cannot say in any voice.

London, 1872. Seventeen-year-old heiress Leonora Somerville is preparing to be presented to upper-class society—again. She’s strikingly beautiful and going to be very rich, but Leo has a problem money can’t solve. A curious speech disorder causes her to stutter but allows her to imitate other people’s voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her “Mad Miss Mimic” behind her back…and watch as Leo unintentionally scares off one potential husband after another.

London is also a city gripped by opium fever. Leo’s brother-in-law, Dr. Dewhurst, and his new business partner, Francis Thornfax, are front-runners in the race to patent an injectable formula of the drug. Friendly, forthright, and devastatingly handsome, Thornfax seems immune to the gossip about Leo’s “madness.” But their courtship is endangered from the start. The mysterious Black Glove opium gang is setting off explosions across the city. The street urchins Dr. Dewhurst treats are dying of overdoses. And then there is Tom Rampling, the working-class boy Leo can’t seem to get off her mind.

As the violence closes in around her, Leo must find the links among the Black Glove’s attacks, Tom’s criminal past, the doctor’s dangerous cure, and Thornfax’s political ambitions. But first she must find her voice.
 

Additional information

Weight 0.22 kg
Dimensions 20.3 × 13 × 2 cm

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Mad Miss Mimic”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

General Inquiries

There are no inquiries yet.