Rising Above Shepherdsville

රු 750.00

Rising Above Shepherdsville

Hardcover – Import, 16 July 2019
by Ann Schoenbohm (Author)

Out of stock

  Ask a Question
SKU: 9781481452830 Categories: , , ,

Description

Rising Above Shepherdsville

Hardcover – Import, 16 July 2019
by Ann Schoenbohm (Author)

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Beach Lane Books (16 July 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1481452835
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 9781481452830
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8 – 12 years
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 386 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 3.05 x 20.96 cm

In the tradition of The Higher Power of Lucky and Because of Winn Dixie, a young girl deals with her mother’s suicide in this riveting debut novel that explores love, loss, family, friendship, and redemption.

In the summer of 1977, twelve-year-old Dulcie Louise Dixon arrives on the doorstep of her Aunt Bernie’s farmhouse in Shepherdsville, Ohio, with no voice, a spelling bee trophy, a Webster’s Dictionary, and a box full of ashes. She tries to adjust to her new situation, but can’t forget the words she left behind or the mother she’s lost to suicide.

One day, Dulcie discovers a secret place: a swan’s nest in the woods where at last, her broken world begins to mend. With the help of her surprising new friends—a guitar-playing runaway, a poetry-loving preacher, a one-armed gas station attendant, a singing seamstress, a chained-up hunting dog, and a family of swans—Dulcie is finally able to rise out of her sadness and grief to find her voice once again.

goodreads.com reviews Reviews

Average Rating:

3.9 rating based on 95 ratings (all editions)

ISBN-10: 1481452835
ISBN-13: 9781481452830
Goodreads: 30312815

Author(s):
Publisher:
Published: //

In the tradition of The Higher Power of Lucky and Because of Winn Dixie, a young girl deals with her mother’s suicide in this riveting debut novel that explores love, loss, family, friendship, and redemption.

In the summer of 1977, twelve-year-old Dulcie Louise Dixon arrives on the doorstep of her Aunt Bernie’s farmhouse in Shepherdsville, Ohio, with no voice, a spelling bee trophy, a Webster’s Dictionary, and a box full of ashes. She tries to adjust to her new situation, but can’t forget the words she left behind or the mother she’s lost to suicide.

One day, Dulcie discovers a secret place: a swan’s nest in the woods where at last, her broken world begins to mend. With the help of her surprising new friends—a guitar-playing runaway, a poetry-loving preacher, a one-armed gas station attendant, a singing seamstress, a chained-up hunting dog, and a family of swans—Dulcie is finally able to rise out of her sadness and grief to find her voice once again.
 

Additional information

Weight 0.369 kg
Dimensions 20.96 × 13.97 × 3.05 cm

General Inquiries

There are no inquiries yet.